The Woken Gods

The Woken Gods

The more things change...
Ten years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.
The more things stay the same...
This morning, seventeen-year-old Kyra Locke was late for school.
But that's not out of the ordinary in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind's relations with the gods. What is unusual is Kyra's encounter with two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat, and the other a warning.
Kyra escapes with the aid of young operatives from the Society, who inform her that her scholarly father has disappeared from its headquarters at the Library of Congress and taken a dangerous Egyptian relic with him. The Society needs the item back, and they aren't interested in Kyra's protests that she knows nothing about it.
Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the help of everyone from a paranoid ex-boyfriend to scary Sumerian gods to operatives whose allegiance is first and always to the Society. She has no choice if she's going to clear her father's name and recover the missing relic before
the impending summer solstice.
What's at stake? Just the end of the world as Kyra knows it.
From the author of "Blackwood "comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan...
"
"

Title:The Woken Gods
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781908844248
Format Type:

    The Woken Gods Reviews

  • Khanh, first of her name, mother of bunnies

    While nothing was glaringly bad within this book, it just wasn't entertaining. I didn't enjoy reading it, I didn't have fun with it. However, with all its faults put together, and just the lack of enj...

  • Experiment BL626

    Ancient gods, a secret society, and the end of the world; I expected to be wowed. I was not wowed. The book described how bad things were (really bad) and how high the stakes were (really high) but I ...

  • Milo (BOK)

    The Review: http://thefoundingfields.com/2013/08/.... “A great, fast paced and fun novel that puts a new spin on the “Gods Are Real” storyline that fans of the Percy Jackson series and other si...

  • Ben Babcock

    The Woken Gods has a wicked premise: what if the deities of various ancient mythologies were real entities, but at some point in time, for reasons lost to us, they were put asleep or fell asleep? What...

  • AH

    Initial Thoughts: This was a fun read set in Washington, DC after "The Awakening." The world is overrun by all sorts of ancient gods from many different backgrounds. These tricksters wreak havoc and...

  • Mieneke

    After her successful debut with Blackwood last year, Gwenda Bond is back with a new book in a new setting. Having really enjoyed Blackwood, I was very much looking forward to The Woken Gods, with it...

  • Aa'Ishah

    With promises of Egyptian mythology and sudden disappearances, the wait for this book was a difficult one. I find mythology in general to be a fascinating thing, and that combined with plot elements a...

  • Sarah

    3.5 starsIt's been quite some time since I actually sat down to write an honest to God book review so forgive me if this one is a little disjointed, alas I am rusty.First things first, is this a serie...

  • Miranda

    Actual rating: 3.5I’ll admit to being a little hesitant in reading YA books--or any books, really, but especially YA ones--that deal with gods. All too often they aren’t written well, to be honest...

  • Rebekah

    ARC received from publisher in exchange for an honest opinion. Find more reviews at The Reflections of a Bookworm What worked: When I first received The Woken Gods to review, I let it sit on my shelf...