How to Fall In Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush

How to Fall In Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush

For readers of quirky Scandinavian fiction comes this charming and witty debut novel by Emmy Abrahamson—perfect for fans of Jonas Jonasson.

Love stinks. Or maybe it just needs a shower . . .

Vienna: famous for Mozart, waltzes, and pastry; less famous for Julia, a Swedish transplant who spends her days teaching English to unemployed Austrians and her evenings watching Netflix with her cat or club hopping with a frenemy. An aspiring novelist, Julia’s full of ideas for future bestsellers: A writer moves his family to a deserted hotel in the dead of winter and spirals into madness! A homely governess loves a brooding man whose crazy wife is locked up in the attic! Fine, so they’ve been done. Doesn’t mean Julia won’t find something original.

Then something original finds Julia—sits down next to her on a bench, as a matter of fact. Ben is handsome (under all that beard) and adventurous (leaps from small bridges in a single bound). He’s also sexy as hell and planning to shuffle off to Berlin before things can get too serious. Oh, and Ben lives in a public park.

Thus begins a truth stranger than any fiction Julia might have imagined: a whirlwind relationship with a guy who shares her warped sense of humor and shakes up the just-okay existence she’s been too lazy to change. Ben challenges her to break out; she challenges him to settle down. As weeks turn to months, Julia keeps telling herself that this is a chapter in her life, not the whole book. If she writes the ending, she can’t get hurt.

But what if the ending isn’t hers to write?

 

Title:How to Fall In Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062678034
Format Type:

    How to Fall In Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush Reviews

  • Paromjit

    I chose to read this book because it was set in Vienna, a city I know rather well. For me, that was the best thing about this book that is billed as a romantic comedy. The humour it portrays is not re...

  • Kalyn Nicholson

    I had no idea what to expect when I started reading this, and while I loved the sarcasm and the storyline was unique to anything I've ever read- the storyline had pockets where it seemed to drag out a...

  • Siaice

    Nope....

  • Roman Clodia

    This looks cute and fun but actually I found it irritating: it's a personal memoir barely disguised as a novel telling how the author met her husband when he was homeless and smelly - no, not just sme...

  • Deanne

    I absolutely loved this book!!! I’m definitely staff picking this one to rave about to anyone who doesn’t run from my overly-enthusiastic expression. Why oh why isn’t there more books with humou...

  • Anne

    I had no idea what to expect from this book. I hadn't heard anything about it before it arrived through my letterbox, but the blurb is enticing and I was in the mood for some smiles so welcomed the ch...

  • Story

    I needed a light read and chose this because I once was an ESL teacher, lonely in a foreign city. The story had its moments and was occasionally funny but I wasn't convinced by the 'romance' and found...

  • Book Concierge

    Julia is a Swede living in Austria where she teaches English at Berlitz. She’s in Vienna because she followed a boyfriend there; now they’ve broken up and she’s at loose ends. One day, while wai...

  • Catie

    Review copy provided by Harper Collins UK - February 2018Really enjoyed the first 50 pages BEFORE the main character met her love match (a few laugh out loud moments). About half way through the book,...

  • Sherry

    The premise was interesting - and original - which is why I chose to read it. Their courtship was also unique and it did have its funny moments. However the plot dragged quite a bit - especially when ...