Be Everything at Once: Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person

Be Everything at Once: Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person

by

comics, , comics-read-not-manga, owned-books, graphic-novels, people-of-color, graphic-novels, 2018, graphic-fiction-comics, non-fiction, 2019-reads, graphic-novels, graphic-novels, read-in-2018, 2019, comedy, gn, comics, dani-s-reads, Sequential Art, Humor, Nonfiction, Autobiography, Graphic Novels Comics, Biography, Adult, Biography Memoir

Why do things in moderation when you can just do everything? Cartoonist Dami Lee's hilarious four-panel comic collection illustrates her experience navigating identity, relationships, pop culture, and misunderstandings about basic human interactions.

From growing up as a South Korean immigrant kid in the foreign land of Texas to finding her home as a professional cartoonist in cyberspace, Lee laughs at it all. With favorite selections from Dami's massively popular webcomic As Per Usual, as well as many never-before-seen comics, Be Everything at Once is earnestly relatable and endlessly funny, full of (mostly) true stories for anyone who obsesses over their favorite snacks, struggles to take the best selfie, tears up at the sight of a perfect dog, or is maybe just trying to find their place.

• Humor for anyone who has ever felt out-of-place and overworked
• A mix of relatable moments and personal stories
• Comic strip format book of stories from a modern young woman

Fans of Superchill: A Year of Living Anxiously, Emotions Explained with Buff Dudes, Adulthood is a Myth, and Hyperbole and a Half will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Comic fans
• 20-somethings
• Fans of Sarah Andersen and Allie Brosh
• Dami Lee's social media followers
• Fans of pop culture

Title:Be Everything at Once: Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person
ISBN:9781452167657
Format Type:

    Be Everything at Once: Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person Reviews

  • Dave Schaafsma

    4 panel comics by Dami Lee, who three times moved to the states from South Korea. I think a lot of younger women will like it, focused as it is on some cultural issues, on how she became a cartoonist,...

  • Rod Brown

    A book of diminishing returns. I liked the first section a lot as Lee wrote about being a South Korean immigrant to America as a child who then returns to South Korea as a fish out of water. The next ...

  • Ken Yuen

    Fantastic, a fun ride. I want to subscribe to her web comic now.If you like Sarah Andersen comics, you'll like this. Plus, all the drawings are just so cute....

  • Justine

    Review to come. ...

  • Amanie

    I like Dami Lee's art, it's the right amount of awkward cute combined with smart lessons and anecdotal material. I laughed really hard when I learned what she coined W.F.S: a condition in which everyt...

  • Sara

    Cute & weird & hilar...

  • Maggie Gordon

    Unfortunately, while the book starts with some interesting comics about culture and identity, it quickly devolves into a generic joke book that isn't particularly funny or innovative. Meh. ...

  • ????

    I stumbled across an instgram post of this book and fell in love with the wit so I decided to follow the account when suddenly I realize that there's actually a whole book of these comics. I did not w...

  • USOM

    Be Everything at Once manages to balance these panels of humor with insight. Each comic page has a distinct feel, almost like looking at snapshots of a life. Varying with degrees of humor and wisdom, ...

  • Hana

    Super cute and relatable!...