That Night

That Night

by

review-copies, , ya, kindle-books, mental-health, edelweiss, 2018-releases, ya, ya, arc, young-adult, genre-young-adult, young-adult, favorite-2018, realistic-fiction, tear-jerking, better-than-i-expected, ya-realistic-fiction, young-adult, young-adult, realistic-fiction, contemporary, Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Health, Family, Fiction, Mental Health

An emotional sophomore YA novel from acclaimed author Amy Giles, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jennifer Niven, about tragedy, love, and learning to heal.

The year since a mass shooting shook their Queens neighborhood has played out differently for Jess and Lucas, both of whom were affected by that night in eerily similar and deeply personal ways.

As Jess struggles to take care of her depressed mother, and Lucas takes up boxing under the ever-watchful eye of his overprotective parents, their paths converge. They slowly become friends and then something more, learning to heal and move forward together. But what does it mean to love after an unspeakable tragedy?

Title:That Night
ISBN:9780062495778
Format Type:

    That Night Reviews

  • destiny ??? [howling libraries]

    You might have noticed I have a very specific “type” when it comes to YA contemporary: if it isn’t tragic, I probably won’t like it, but if it can yank at my heart strings and make me cry (and...

  • Kristy

    It's been a year since the shooting in their town changed everything, and Jessica Nolan and Lucas Rossi are each trying to manage in their own way. Jess is trying to care for her severely depressed mo...

  • Dylan

    5 stars.I think Giles is a new favorite author. I read NOW IS EVERYTHING by her last year and absolutely loved it, and this the same. She's one of the few authors that you can tell cares immensely abo...

  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)

    I loved this so much more than I expected. I loved that it wasn't meet a person and boom! everyone is fixed.Instead this was real. It felt like it was something that we could all relate to. Whether in...

  • Sylvie

    3.85/5 Stars.Life is either about moving forward or looking back. We're moving forward again, but we'll never forget what's back there behind us. We can't. Because if we forget, it could happen again....

  • Tee loves Kyle Jacobson

    Where to start on this review? This book is so deep and so relevant to today's society that I cried while I was reading this book because young adult shootings are happening more often. Kills killing ...

  • Dahlia

    This was a really lovely, quiet YA about grief, love, survivor's guilt, and moving on. I'm usually really iffy on books where people "recover" thanks to a romantic relationship, but especially for Luc...

  • Samantha (WLABB)

    Rating: 4.5 StarsThat night everything changed. That night they both lost their brothers, but that wasn't all they lost. Jess and Lucas were struggling to heal in the aftermath, and maybe their best b...

  • Amber Smith

    I was a huge fan of Amy's first book, NOW IS EVERYTHING, and I love this one even more! It was one of those books where I found myself thinking about Jess and Lucas even when I wasn't reading. They ju...

  • Kathleen Glasgow

    I love this book for its honest portrayal of teens in the aftermath of tragedy. Jess and Lucas are wonderfully written, the story will make you ache and hope for them. I think this would be an excelle...