The Mistletoe Motive

The Mistletoe Motive

by

, 2021, 4-stars, forced-proximity, 5-iadorethisbook-stars, disability-rep-love, pen-pals, adult, read-pdf, arcs, adult, december-2021, dnf, grumpy-sunshine, novellas, bored-out-of-my-mind, read-in-2021, one-click-author, 2021-favorites, 2021-reads, Romance, Holiday, Contemporary, Adult, Novella, Fiction, Audiobook, LGBT

From the author of THE BERGMAN BROTHERS series comes a slow-burn, enemies-to-lovers holiday romance, perfect for fans of THE HATING GAME and YOU'VE GOT MAIL.

He loathes the holidays. She loves them. She’s full of festive cheer. He’s brimming with Bah, Humbugs. Besides unreasonably seasonable names, the only thing Jonathan Frost and Gabriella Di Natale have in common is a healthy dose of mutual contempt. Well, that and the same place of employment at the city’s most beloved independent bookstore, Bailey’s Bookshop. But when the store’s owners confess its dire financial state, Jonathan and Gabby discover another unfortunate commonality: the imminent threat of unemployment.

With the Baileys’ requests to minimize expenses, win new customers, and make record sales dancing in their heads, Jonathan and Gabby conclude—barring a financial Christmas miracle—one of them will soon be cut from the payroll. Neither are willing to step down from their position, so they strike a bargain: whoever has more sales in December gets to stay on in the new year; the loser will resign. With a lifetime's worth of festive tricks up her sleeve, Gabby should easily outsell her nemesis, except the unreadable Mr. Frost’s every move seems purely designed to throw her off her game.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, Gabby's deceptive ex won't quit pursuing her, and her anonymous online friend suggests they take a break. Worst of all, as the pressure mounts to save the bookshop and her job, Gabby meets a new, tender side of Jonathan. Is this the same man she's called her cold-hearted enemy?

Maybe he’s got a motive she just can’t figure out—or maybe Jonathan Frost isn’t as chilly as she once thought. Maybe Jonathan and Gabby already know—and love—each other in ways they never thought possible.

This is an #OwnVoices story for its portrayal of autism by an autistic author.

Title:The Mistletoe Motive
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781774536780
Format Type:

    The Mistletoe Motive Reviews

  • elena ?

    One problem I had with The Mistletoe Motive is how it reminded me too much of The Hating Game, which I hated. So, with that being said, this was more of a personal problem. Too many things resembled i...

  • EmBibliophile [hiatus]

    “Do you know how lucky we are? That we found each other not once but twice?” I don’t really read holiday romances, I mean I like when a book has a holiday in it or a chapter or two around Chr...

  • Chloe Liese

    Today's the day! My festive holiday enemies-to-lovers, steamy slow-burn long novella/short novel, THE MISTLETOE MOTIVE, is out in this wintery world, and I can't wait for you to meet Jonathan and Gabb...

  • preoccupiedbybooks

    This was the cute Christmassy read that I needed 😍...

  • ellie

    “I just think it’ll be pretty damn impossible not to love the holidays just a little, now that I get to share them with you.” men written by women🤌🏻 Johnathan is literally the m...

  • sil ? the book voyagers

    Outstanding. Beautiful. A master piece.Chloe Liese's The Mistletoe Motive is a lovely holiday romance between two rivals competing for the same job position. It's the holiday season and at Bailey's Bo...

  • alka [hiatus]

    chalking it up to the good old case of it's not the book, it's me. listen, you can definitely consider me a christmassy person but i don't think christmas themed romances are my thing. they have too m...

  • julia ?

    𝟱 - 𝗺𝗿. 𝗚𝗿𝗶𝗻𝗰𝗵 - 𝘀𝘁𝗮𝗿𝘀 ❝No more being brave on your own,❞ he says. ❝Now we’re brave together.❞ ❝Together.❞ I smile up at him and hold his eyes. ...

  • Natasha

    boringggg😖 didn't find any connection or chemistry between the main characters.The writing felt so weird....

  • kimberly ?

    ate DOWN, so so cute omggg i wish it were longer so perfect for the holidays ...